The Caucasus

Separated between its northern and southern parts, the Caucasus region, which borders Europe and Asia, contends with disputed status of areas such as Nagorno-Karabakh, South Ossetia and Abkhazia.

1) Armenia

Since the end of war in 1994, Armenia and Azerbaijan have been holding peace talks – mediated by the OSCE Minsk Group – on the disputed status of Nagorno-Karabakh, which is internationally recognized as part of the latter. Read more…


2) Georgia

From the Rose revolution in 2003 to its short war with Russia in 2008, which subequently lead to declarations of independence by South Ossetia and Abkhazia, Georgia’s post-Soviet transition remains beset with complications. Read more…



A postcard from Nagorno-Karabakh (photograph courtesy of Ekaterina Didkovskaya, publish under a Creative Commons License)

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons