Northern Africa

According to the UN’s classification, Northern Africa includes, amongst others, Libya, South Sudan, Sudan and Western Sahara.

GCCT members can be found in:

1) South Sudan

Despite becoming the world’s newest nation on 9th July 2011, South Sudan faces a host challenges in consolidating its statehood, including the sharing of oil revenues and the disputed status of the region of Abyei (over which a separate referendum will be held). Read more…


2) Sudan

Since its independence in 1956, Sudan has been in a state of near constant war; the deadliest instance being Darfur, which is frequently described as genocide. Read more…



The Ashes of South Sudan Rise from the Mud – Ash-dressed Mundari child celebrating the first South Sudan Independence Day (photography courtesy of FreedomHouseDC, published under a Creative Commons License)